ADVERTISEMENT

This sums up what is wrong in America today

jackmob5225

Silver Buffalo
Jun 13, 2011
I'm ok with the protest, but if I were the teacher I'd tell the class "if you grow up and rob people and come at an armed cop, expect to be shot. Now line up and get your asses outside."

I suspect that if these kids used their recess to hold up signs supporting the police that you'd not be motivated to start this thread. I think your main objection is the fact that the protest goes against your personal views. I'm a teacher and I have mixed views here. If this was truly student driven I would have no problem with it. It was during recess so it didn't take class time. The right to peacefully assemble in protest is a constitutional guarantee. However, if this is something that is being driven by the teacher(s), I'd object because these students should not be used as pawns to express the views of adults.

I'd have to know more about this.

My problem with this is that the facts are being ignored. This man did not have his hands up in the traditional way people are portraying. Plus these kids are in 2nd grade!!!! If you want to conduct something like this in high school where kids are able to make decisions for themselves maybe. But what bothers me the most is the facts are being ignored period.

That is my point!!! The people involved who used children for their own agenda should be held accountable. I'm not asking they get fired but they need to be disciplined so this doesn't happen again.

I wouldn't want elementary school teachers to teach kids that peaceful protest is a bad thing by breaking it up, no matter what it's about.

Originally posted by GK4Herd: