ADVERTISEMENT

Bottom line...

redsfan5590

Silver Buffalo
Dec 14, 2010
Going to football games isn’t really that enjoyable anymore at Marshall. And that even includes when they are winning. Whether it’s the style of play, the fact that any time there is more than 20k fans you feel like you can’t move in the concourse, the outdated bathrooms, the poor sound system/video board, the lack of atmosphere, or any other number of problems.... I just find myself not enjoying the games.

I’m an alumnus who loves the university. I grew up in Huntington and went to as many games as I possibly could growing up. I knew I would have season tickets when I graduated and got a “real job”. As a student I went to every home game.

And yet... I just find our games tired. They aren’t really enjoyable. The one redeeming quality we have is a solid tailgating scene. That’s about it. We need a new coach, and an entirely new athletic department with a new vision.... check that with A vision.

any time there is more than 20k fans you feel like you can’t move in the concourse
I HATE OUR CONCOURSES.

Apologize for the all caps, but man they are ridiculous. They are so packed in and there is no order as to how people walk. They need to just take the fencing out. I don't know how it even meets safety codes. Imagine a game like UC, Purdue, Louisville, or 2010 WVU. Now imagine an emergency of some sort where people needed to flee the stadium. There's going to be a lot of seriously hurt people.

The concession lines stretch out 3/4s of the way out to the fence and the last 1/4 is jammed full of vendors and condiment tables.

I can't say that I a have ever been to another stadium that had concourses as jammed up as ours.

I HATE OUR CONCOURSES.