ADVERTISEMENT

NIL Money

Sep 19, 2022
I read somewhere, and have now seen it on Twitter, where WVU is paying the kid from Arizona that is transferring 500K for one year. Which leads me to several thoughts and questions, as I still don't fully understand this NIL BS

1. Is that accurate and is that the world we live in now?
2. Does that money come from donors or is that Big 12 money?
3. Based on the answer to Number 2, since SBC money is not P5 money, are we therefore never going to be able to compete for players since there is obviously a discrepancy of money?

Seems like with NIL that the rich get richer, which is the opposite of what amateur sports should be about.

CJB: I am no expert, but I believe all schools now have a 503-c organization (Marshall’s is the “Thunder Trust”) where the money is donated & then doled out to the recipients.
So, if we have enough 💵, we can definitely compete, at least at the G5 level imo…….

Reactions: BleedsGreen33
CJB: I am no expert, but I believe all schools now have a 503-c organization (Marshall’s is the “Thunder Trust”) where the money is donated & then doled out to the recipients.
So, if we have enough 💵, we can definitely compete, at least at the G5 level imo…….
Well that answers some of what I am asking. Is the kind of money that goes to the NIL coming from donors, or can colleges use the money they make from conference money to pay for those players. Like in the example above, WVU gets over 40M a year from Big 12 money. Can some of that be used for NIL or is it strictly donor? If its the former, then we are pretty screwed long term. If it is just donor, then sometimes all it takes is one or two big wigs to make a move.

I read somewhere, and have now seen it on Twitter, where WVU is paying the kid from Arizona that is transferring 500K for one year. Which leads me to several thoughts and questions, as I still don't fully understand this NIL BS